Feb 15, 2019  
2016-2017 Academic Catalog 
2016-2017 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Office of Development and Alumni Relations

Office of Development and Alumni Relations

The Alumni Association of Grinnell College was established in 1879 with 151 charter members. Today, the College’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations, in coordination with the Alumni Council, serves more than 20,000 active class members living across the United States and around the world.  Alumni volunteers — class agents, class fund directors, class committees, regional planning committees, alumni admission representatives, and career development volunteers — all work to support the College. The College provides its alumni with such services as The Grinnell Magazine, coordination of regional activities, promotion of class and affinity reunions, alumni awards, and class letters. The College also offers an online directory to encourage alumni to get in contact with each other.

The Student Alumni Council (SAC) is a student-run group that strives to instill in students a lifelong connection to the College, to facilitate interaction between all Grinnellians, and to raise student awareness about Grinnell’s history and traditions. SAC fosters an atmosphere that guides students in their transition to life after Grinnell, bestowing a sense of pride in their alma mater that will carry over to their chosen careers. To join SAC, send an email to sac@grinnell.edu.

For more about Alumni Council, SAC, and the Office of Development and Alumni Relations, visit our website at: https://alumni.grinnell.edu/

Alumni Council Officers

W. Edward Senn ‘79, past-president, Angela Onwuachi-Willig ‘94, president, and Peter Calvert ‘79, president-elect.

Alumni Council Members 

Lester Aleman ‘07, Jim Asplund ‘88, Claudia Beckwith ‘77, Allison Brinkhorst ‘11, Peter Calvert ‘79, Cameo Carlson ‘93, Ann Poor Cary ‘81, Ryann Haines Cheung ‘93, Jeetander Dulani ‘98, Kelly Clements Hopfer ‘96, David Jarvis ‘04, G. Christopher Meyer ‘70, Barbara Hunt Moore ‘65, Angela Onwuachi-Willig ‘94, Mary Knuth Otto ‘63, Ahsan Rahim ‘11, Richard Raridon ‘53, Saurabh Saraf ‘05, Howard Schein ‘66, J. Fritz Schwaller ‘69, W. Edward Senn ‘79, Rhonda Stuart ‘86, Rick Stuck ‘82, Lara Szent-Gyorgi ‘89, Gof Thomson ‘62, and Archie Tyson ‘05.

Alumni Awards, 2015

Caroline Tollefson Owens ‘62, David L. Palmer ‘62, Susan Scholl Folstein, M.D. ‘66, James Randall ‘66, David Gillchrist ‘81, Scott Shepherd ‘82, Laura Cleveland Shepherd ‘82, Daniel Werner ‘91, Luna Ranjit ‘00, and Mrinalini (Mini) Watsa ‘06 - Pioneer Award.

Alumni Senior Awards 2015

Jasmine Gerristen ‘16 and Sophia Neems ‘16.