The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Grinnell College
  Feb 23, 2018
2016-2017 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Presidents of the College

Presidents of Grinnell College

The Trustees of Iowa College 1846–65  
George Frederic Magoun 1865–84  
Samuel J. Buck acting, 1884–87  
George Augustus Gates 1887–1900  
John H. T. Main acting, 1900–02  
Dan Freeman Bradley 1902–05  
John H.T. Main acting, 1905–06; 1906–31  
John Scholte Nollen 1931–40  
Samuel Nowell Stevens 1940–54  
Rupert Adam Hawk acting, 1954–55  
Howard Rothmann Bowen 1955–64  
James Hartmann Stauss acting, 1964–65  
Glenn Leggett 1965–75  
  President Emeritus of the College 1979–2003  
A. Richard Turner 1975–79  
George A. Drake 1979–91  
  President Emeritus of the College 2005–  
Waldo S. Walker acting, 1987  
Pamela A. Ferguson 1991–1997  
Charles L. Duke acting, 1998  
Russell K. Osgood 1998–2010  
Raynard S. Kington 2010–