Dec 11, 2019  
2014-2015 Academic Catalog 
2014-2015 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Alumni Association

Alumni Association

The Alumni Association of Grinnell College was established in 1879 with 151 charter members. Today the association, headed by the Alumni Council, includes the more than 20,000 active class members living across the United States and around the world.  Alumni volunteers — class agents, class fund directors, class committees, regional planning committees, alumni admission representatives, and career development volunteers — all work to support the College. The College provides its alumni with such services as The Grinnell Magazine, coordination of regional activities, promotion of class and affinity reunions, alumni awards, and class letters. The College also offers an online directory to encourage alumni to get in contact with each other.

The Student Alumni Council (SAC) is a student-run group that strives to instill in students a lifelong connection to the College, to facilitate interaction between all Grinnellians, and to raise student awareness about Grinnell’s history and traditions. SAC fosters an atmosphere that guides students in their transition to life after Grinnell, bestowing a sense of pride in their alma mater that will carry over to their chosen careers. To join SAC, send an email to

For more about Alumni Council, SAC, or alumni relations, visit our website at:


Nancy Schmulbach Maly ‘61, past-president; Susan Henken Thielen ‘80, president; W. Ed See ‘70, president-elect

Council Members 

Jim Asplund ‘88, Allison Brinkhorst ‘11, Alexia S. Brue ‘95, Cameo Carlson ‘93, Jim Decker ‘75, Catherine Gillis ‘80, Susan Henken-Thielen ‘80, Mark Henry ‘05, Barbara Hunt Moore ‘65, Angela Onwuachi-Willig ‘94, Mary Knuth Otto ‘63, Ahsan Rahim ‘11, Richard Raridon ‘53, Jonathan Richardson ‘10, Rania Mohamed Robb ‘03, Pamela Dryden Rogacki ‘64, Saurabh Saraf ‘05, J. Fritz Schwaller ‘69, W. Ed Senn ‘79, Rhonda Stuart ‘86, Lara Szent-Gyorgi ‘89, and Sherman P. Willis ‘01 

Alumni Awards, 2011

Elizabeth Barnard Brooke ‘54, John Copeland ‘59, Anne Brineman Anderson ‘64, Martha Grodzins Butt ‘64, Peter (Cohon) Coyote ‘64, Samuel Schuman ‘64, G. Pete Ferrell ‘74, Anthony Hyatt ‘85, and Sarah B.R. Labowitz ‘04

Alumni Senior Award

Jennelle Nystrom ‘14 and Cynthia Amezcua ‘14